The Session is the governing council of the church and is composed of ruling elders elected by the congregation and the teaching elders (or ministers) of the church.  Together, they exercise leadership, governance, and oversight for the life of the congregation and actively participate in the work of the larger church locally and beyond.

Deacons are men and women chosen by the congregation who are committed to witnessing to the community-building love of Jesus Christ by nurturing the bonds of fellowship within the congregation, caring for those in the congregation and community with special needs, offering intercessory prayers every Sunday after worship, and preparing the sanctuary each Sunday for worship.

Under the laws of the state, the Trustees hold and manage properties and, as authorized by the Session, conduct business on behalf of the congregation.   At First Church, the Trustees are elected by the congregation and are responsible primarily for the upkeep and maintenance of the church building and the stewardship of the congregation's resources.   

Click here for a list of Current Church Officers.